Local Government of Gold River

Village of Gold River Municipal Council
499 Muchalat Drive, PO Box 610, Gold River, BC, Canada V0P 1G0
Phone: 250-283-2202 Fax: 250-283-7500
Website: www.villageofgoldriver.com
Email: villageofgoldriver@cablerocket.com



Council is the governing elected body for the Village of Gold River, comprised of a Mayor and four Councillors. All members of Council are elected for terms three years in length and each member of Council represents the Village at large.

The Community Charter and Local Government Act give Council the statutory authority to do such things as provide services, set budgets, levy taxes, and establish policies for the benefit and protection of its residents

Council Meetings are held the first and third Monday of every month unless otherwise posted, in Council Chambers at 7:30pm. Agendas are prepared on the Thursday prior to the meeting and are available for viewing by the public at the Village Office on the morning of the meeting.


Gold River Mayor & Council


Councillor Darcy Curr                     grdcurr@conumacable.com

Councillor Rod MacLeod                 grrmacleod@conumacable.com

Mayor Brad Unger                           grbunger@conumacable.com

Councillor Kirsty Begon                   grkbegon@conumacable.com

Councillor Gordie Waterman            grgwaterman@conumacable.com

Gold River Village Staff

Larry Plourde Chief Administrative Officer grlplourde@cablerocket.com
Sue Rich Deputy Clerk grsrich@cablerocket.com
Maxine McLean Deputy Treasurer grmmclean@cablerocket.com
Mick Mann Parks & Recreation Manager and Public Works Supervisor arena@conumacable.com
Michael Lott Aquatic Program Supervisor and Utility Supervisor pool@conumacable.com


Gold River Visitor Centre 

PO Box 610, Gold River, BC V0P 1G0
Phone: 250-283-2418 (July-August)
250-283-2202 Off Season (Sept – June)

Located at the entrance to town on Hwy 28, the Gold River Visitor Centre is housed in a beautiful heritage building, with full washroom facilities, pay phone, sani-station and potable water, directional and business signs, all on a landscaped park like setting.  The Visitor Centre is fully wheelchair accessible and there are picnic tables and RV parking available.  The Gold River Visitor Centre is a seasonal operation open weekends from May to June and daily between July and August.

Strathcona Regional District

#301 – 990 Cedar Street
Campbell River, BC V9W 7Z8
Phone: 1-877-830-2990

The Strathcona Regional District was established on February 15, 2008 as one of two new local governments, created by the provincial government’s  restructure of the Comox Strathcona Regional District.   Regional districts are a unique feature of the British Columbia local government system, and the Strathcona Regional District, as with all regional districts, is a federation of municipalities and rural areas. Regional districts provide a government for unincorporated (rural) areas, a forum for inter-municipal cooperation and an organization upon which provincial mandates can be imposed, such as for regional waste management planning.  The Village of Gold River is a member municipality of the Strathcona Regional District.


Council of Chiefs

Ha’wilth Dan Savey Sr

Tyee Ha’wilth Muchalaht Norman George

Tyee Ha’wilth MowachahtMichael Maquinna

Ha’wilth Ben Jack Sr

Ha’wilth Pat James

Chief’s Elders Advisor Larry Andrew


Village of Tsaxana

Mowachaht/Muchalaht First Nation
100 Ouwatin Road, Tsaxana Reserve, Gold River, BC.
Mailing Address: PO Box 459, Gold River, BC, Canada V0P 1G0
Phone:250-283-2015  Fax: 250-283-2335
Toll free: 1-800-293-2388
Web Site: www.yuquot.ca



Administration Staff

Michael McGee         Administrator
Wendy HeChief        Financial Officer
Jamie James             Fisheries Manager
Arlene Andrews        Patient travel/Membership Clerk
Eliza Johnson           Admin& HOU Janitorial
Francine Savey        COC Assistant
Michelle Frame        Finance Clerk
Raven Michael         Social Development Manager
Rose Jack                 Family & Health Services
Shirley Johnson       Gym Janitorial
Tracy Amos               Administrative Assistant
Wayne Hinchcliffe     Housing Worker
Wayne Lord              Public Works Manager
Willie Howard Jr        Maintenance Worker
Yvonne Murphy        Receptionist

Carlene Jack           Daycare Supervisor
Carol Sine               Preschool Teacher
Jeannine Dick         Recreation Coordinator
Marie Lavoie           Education Coordinator
Roz Latvala             NIC Teacher